A LONDON STEAL

Usurping Steals Across the Captial.

INTRODUCING DJ El-SWAN

This week I had the special pleasure of interviewing up-and-coming DJ El-Swan. We caught up before her set at XOYO on Thursday 8th May to talk Annie Mac, girl power and of course, shoes (okay I brought up shoes, but can you blame a girl – her trainers were fantastic!).

Annie Mac

Hi El-Swan! We hear your schedule’s getting pretty full these next few months and can’t wait to hear you at XOYO this week, but we want to know where it all started! Tell us a bit about how you got into DJing?

Hi Elle! My route into Djing kicked off at uni. I was part of a group of student DJs called Recklessly Organic. We played in local bars and clubs. When I moved back to London after uni [El-Swan is a born and bred Londoner] I definitely missed RO and I knew I really wanted to start up here. At uni I was also given the incredible opportunity to support Annie Mac when she headlined at our student union – that was a pretty unforgettable moment!

Supporting Annie Mac sounds incredible – is she an inspiration to you?

Yeah she’s definitely my biggest inspiration and one of the most established tastemakers.  Her current set up on the radio is a weekly highlight of mine. She bookends my weekend, starting with the bassy tunes of Friday night and zoning out with the chilled tones on Sunday. Music is pretty much on non-stop around me. She has also nurtured new DJ talents Monki and B Traits – girl power all round! James Blake and Jamie XX have also had a huge influence on me musically.

Girl power for sure! So what can we expect to hear on Thursday?

You can expect to hear an assortment of old and new tracks, full of biting bass and smashing vocals!

Sounds epic – we can’t wait to hear it! One quick last question we have to ask – what are you wearing because you look incredible?!

Haha! Thanks – I’m a funky t-shirt/jumper kind of person, so I am wearing my new favourite palm tree t-shirt and black cheap Monday jeans (which I swear by). As a footwear fanatic [we knew we loved her for a reason!]  I’m wearing Nike air max trainers. I am also wearing an Adidas original zip up jumper which I purchased from an awesome vintage store in Bristol, on the Clifton Triangle.

 23

Catch El-Swan’s set at XOYO this Thursday May 8th | 9pm-3am

Twitter | @laureneldon

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2014 by in The Fashion Steals, The Lifestyle Steals.